Weekday Buffet at Bfast (part 2 of 2)

The staff at Bfast are very helpful and courteous. If you lock eyes with one, they will immediately ask what you need. It’s through this that I was informed of other choices in the buffet that are not on the buffet table.

Bfast’s Corned Beef

The corned beef that I am accustomed to is pinkish, shredded, and canned. Bfast’s corned beef is obviously not that, adhering to the ordinary and textbook definition of the famed beef variety. I initially thought it was fried pork. It has a robust beef flavor that can be too powerful when taken in bulk.  And since it’s not shredded, the corned beef was heavy. The oil and the beef fat added to the heaviness.

Bfast’s Bacon

Bacon is my breakfast/brunch staple. Seeing this delightful pork goodies excited me more than the other dishes. I was quick to dig in! And it did not disappoint. This bacon was made with love. It has a rich, smoky taste without being too salty. There was more meat than fat.  The bacon was soft and easy to tear apart using one’s teeth. It was not soggy as I’ve read in another food review.

Halo-Halo Shooter

I was nearing the end of my buffet journey when I saw the staff placing a new food nameplate on the buffet table. Desserts in shot glasses have been popular for the past few years but it’s my first time to read about Halo-Halo in a tiny glass. I asked about it and they staff prepared one for me in a matter of minutes. They served it with a dessert spoon, which I found useless since it’s in a shot glass. At first glance it did not look much. I was expecting it to resemble Razon’s ice, cheese, and milk halo-halo. But when I tipped it over to drink it like alcohol, I was surprised that it’s not that easy to chug! More than the evident carabao’s milk, ice, and pinipig, it was an authentic halo-halo. Beneath the glass are the hodgepodge of ingredients masked beneath the milk. The spoon had a purpose after all. The carabao’s milk added extra oomph to the halo-halo.

Overall, the buffet choices were satisfying. The meats are heavy in portion and due to the extensive use of oil. The desserts made the 288-peso buffet a bang for the buck, as well as a worthy palette cleanser. Add to that the daily change in buffet components to make sure patrons will not grow tired being fattened up.

I just hope that the buffet starts earlier (like 7AM) to cater to breakfast people. 10AM is nearer to lunch than breakfast, which is an oxymoron to the establishment’s name.

But I would love to devour again on the tapangus and bacon. Bfast’s desserts are also enticingly wonderful, probably the best among the restaurants in Ayala Triangle Gardens. This might become a monthly thing, if the budget permits. 🙂

***

Buffets at Chef Laudico’s Bfast run from 10 AM to 3PM on weekdays and 6 PM to 10 PM on weekends. Price is 288 pesos with free bottomless iced tea or coffee. You can always ask the staff for other food items that are not yet on the buffet table.

Chef Laudico’s Bfast
Ayala Triangle Gardens, Makati City
Landline: +632 901-0882, 856-0634, 856-0541
Mobile: +63 917-800CHEF (2433)
Website: www.cheflaudico.com.ph

Leave a comment